top of page
  • Writer's pictureKahaluu Bishop

Kahalu'u Ward Message 9/15/24

Dear Kahalu'u Ward,

Watching our grandchildren play in the orchestra took me back many years to being in the band in high school. I played the drums. Yes, the most lowly of all instruments because drummers just bang the beat, we don’t have to read notes like the instrument players. In the 9th grade, Macy and I had come up from prep school and were the best drummers in that band. Prep school is what middle school was called back then. We were pretty much the best drummers in the high school band also and we were only freshmen. Back then Kamehameha had this signature song, Hawaiian War Chant, that was always performed at the football games, including a halftime performance. It was a signature song because the band instructor wrote up this huge drum section solo for between the verses.  Macy and I practiced and practiced this drum part and we had it memorized. None of the other upperclassmen drummers could do it as well as us. On the day of the assignment, where the band instructor told us what drum we would be playing. I was assigned to the cymbals.  The coveted drum is the snare drum. That’s where the glory is. I wanted to tell the instructor, “Haven’t you been listening to me play?” So anyway… I played the cymbals. I was embarrassed too. I was hurt. I didn’t understand. After a while, I rationalized to myself that the cymbals were the most important because there is only one cymbal player and if I came crashing in at the wrong time because I counted wrong, it would be disastrous for the whole band.


Moses 1:39 reads:  For behold, this is my work and my glory—to bring to pass the immortality and eternal life of man.


Along this path to immortality and eternal life are bumps, pits, and discouragement, but the Lord said, “… know thou, my son, that all these things shall give thee experience, and shall be for thy good. [D&C 122:7]


Playing in the band back then, I only focused on the glory of the snare drum. But similar to this earthly probation, understanding the big picture helps us cope with disappointments along the way. 


Aloha,

Bro. Terence Miyahana

Stake High Councilman


Sacrament Meeting Schedule & Program

Sep 15, Sunday 2 PM - Sacrament Meeting Program:  CLICK HERE 

Zoom Link for Sacrament Meeting available upon request. Contact Bishop Tano or Bro. Hirokawa.


Announcements


  • Temple Recommend Adjustments:  

    • SEPT 8, 10-Noon - Waikalua & Keolu Hills Chapel

    • SEPT 15, 10-Noon - Waimanalo Chapel

    • SEPT 22, 10-Noon - Kailua Chapel

  • Missionary Meals:  August Calendar needs attention please. Elder Stone & Elder Mitami need meals and visits! Please sign up to meet with the Elders using this MEAL CALENDAR, or call them at (808) 379-8012.

  • Sign up to get free church magazines delivered to your home: CLICK HERE

  • SEPTEMBER: Hawaii Temple & Family History Newsletter 

  • Sep 15, Sunday 4 pm - Youth Council @ Bishops Office 

  • Sep 15, Sunday 6:30 pm - SED @ Bishops House 

  • Sep 18, Wednesday 6:30 pm - Youth Music Gala @ Waikalua Chapel:  Click to RSVP

  • Sep 19, Thursday 6-8 pm - RS Social Activity @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Sep 19, Thursday 6:30 pm - Primary Activities @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Sep 22, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting (Primary Presentation) @ Waikalua Chapel 

  • Sep 28, Saturday 8:45 am - 1 pm  - Stake Relief Society Activity, Crafts Workshops & Lunch (14 and Older) @ Kelolu Chapel

  • Sep 29, Sunday 6 pm - Senior Missionary Fireside @ Honolulu West Stake Center

  • Oct 3, 6:30 pm - Youth Night @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Oct 3, Thursday 6:30 pm - Primary Activities @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Oct 5, Saturday  6 am, 10 am, 2 pm - April 2023 General Conference Sessions

  • Oct 6, Sunday  6 am, 10 am - April 2023 General Conference Sessions








































Missionary Corner


I've been in Darwin for close to three months now and it's been an amazing experience alot of miracles and things happening. Everyday is a day to find joy. 


Something I've been focusing on lately is the principle of Gods Plan of Happiness. Like Elder Kearon said, "The intent of the Father’s great plan of happiness is your happiness, right here, right now, and in the eternities." As we choose to not worry and not fear but rather trust God we will find greater happiness. I've been working on living the principle, searching for the joy of every day. I've noticed many times how much worrying will take my mind away from thinking celestial. There is truly no reason to fear if we are striving to live the Gospel. Trust in God, His plan is for your happiness. 


Love yall, 

Elder Kaonohi



140 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page