top of page
  • Writer's pictureKahaluu Bishop

Kahalu'u Ward Message 8/6/23

Aloha Kahaluu Ward

My wife and I stayed at Koele Lodge back before it started costing $1,000,000 a night. While we were there, I went golfing and Momi just rode along. The course is very, very picturesque and because no one goes there, it was like our very own private course the whole time. As the day progressed, I hit one bad shot, and fumed at myself; as golfers are inclined to do. Then I hit another bad shot, and another bad shot. Before long I was fuming the whole time. But I was so lost in my own golf world that I was oblivious to how I probably looked and sounded. Later that night, we went out to dinner, and amid that peaceful, romantic ambiance, Momi said, “now that you are calm and in a good mood, I can tell you. When you get all mad like that, no one wants to be around you. If you’re going to get upset when you play golf, then why play?” oh boy, that hit me like a ton of bricks.

King Solomon said: He that hath no rule over his own spirit is like a city that is broken down, and without walls. [Proverbs 25:28]


Sadly, my golfing has not improved any since then. But, I control myself better since then and I never get upset over mishits. Elder Joseph B. Wirthlin said, in the October 2008 General

Conference, “The next time you’re tempted to groan, you might try to laugh instead. It will

extend your life and make the lives of all those around you more enjoyable.”


Brother Terence Miyahana

Kahalu'u Ward High Councilman


Meeting Schedule & Links

  • August 6, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting Program: CLICK HERE

Missionary Moment


This week was a really packed week with alot of things going on. I'll skip to the best part. This past week we were able to participate in the baptism of our friend Delina. The best part was that Elder soliai gave me the opportunity to perform the baptism. This was my first baptism of the mission so I was very excited. All week this was all we were looking forward to. There were some close calls throughout the week but in all it all came together in a beautiful moment. I am so grateful to have been given the chance to be a part of delinas journey so far. She was someone we saw alot of potential in when we first met her and that potential continued to grow. On the day of we woke up to clouds and rain, it wasn't going to stop the baptism but we hoped it would stay sunny like it was all week. Luckily right when we got out of the flat to set up the baptism the sky clear straight up and the rain disappeared. It was a small and simple miracle but nade the day so much better. All in all it was a beautiful moment and I am so grateful that delina made the decision to be baptized.

- Elder Kaonohi


Announcements

  • Missionary Meals: Our missionaries need meals and visits! Please sign up to meet with the Elders using this MEAL CALENDAR, or call them at (808) 379-8012.

  • AUGUST: Hawaii Temple & Family History Newsletter

  • Aug 10, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Aug 12, Saturday 9:30-11:30 am - Stake Primary Activity @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Aug 20, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Aug 20, Sunday 4 pm - Youth Council @ Bishop’s Office

  • Aug 20, Sunday 6:30 pm - SED @ Bishop’s House

  • Aug 24, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Aug 27, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Aug 30, Wednesday 6:30 pm - Youth Night with K1 & K2 @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Aug 31, Thursday 6-8 pm - Relief Society Social s@ Waikalua Chapel
















138 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page