top of page
  • Writer's pictureKahaluu Bishop

Kahalu'u Ward Message 8/25/24

Aloha Kahaluu Ohana,

I’m sure almost everyone in this chapel has either attended Seminary or have supported a child or two through the program.  I, on the other hand, became a convert only after I began attending a YSA branch. But now that Leeya’s a freshman, I’ve been quick to witness the many sacrifices required for the success this class. I’ve also been able to see the potential challenges that come with a 5:30A roll call.


In 2022, President M. Russell Ballard, said a Church study on the impact of seminary, institute, and Church colleges “showed that seminary was the leading influence on lifelong Church activity, testimony, feelings of belonging, feeling the Spirit, and personal devotion and family devotion” This statement alone was enough for me to decide that I WANTED to be an unwavering supporter of Leeya attending Seminary regularly…despite my dreadful 4:30A morning alarm 


It is my hope that we will all support our youth that attend, the families as well as our Bishopric who provide guidance, and most importantly the teachers/leaders who serve (two are in our very own ward!).


Na’u me ka ha’aha’a,

Kyra Chun

Kahalu’u Primary President


Sacrament Meeting Schedule & Program

Aug 25, Sunday 2 PM - Sacrament Meeting Program:  CLICK HERE 

Zoom Link for Sacrament Meeting available upon request. Contact Bishop Tano or Bro. Hirokawa.


Announcements


  • Missionary Meals:  August Calendar needs attention please. Elder Santiago & Elder Stone need meals and visits! Please sign up to meet with the Elders using this MEAL CALENDAR, or call them at (808) 379-8012.

  • Sign up to get free church magazines delivered to your home: CLICK HERE

  • AUGUST: Hawaii Temple & Family History Newsletter 

  • Aug 30, Friday 6:30 pm - Youth Night @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Sep 1, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Sep 5, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Sep 5, Thursday 6:30 pm - Primary Activities @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Sept 8, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Sep 10, Tuesday 6 pm - Ward Temple Night (Second Tues Every Month) @ Laie Temple 

  • Sep 12, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night @ Waikalua Chapel



















Missionary Corner


My new companion is Elder Batista. He's from Brazil and he's on the last transfer of his mission, so our companionship is the oldest in the mission. Elder Batista is a friendly and patient missionary. He's also super funny. He makes so many jokes, but because English isn't his first language, half of the time I don't even understand His laugh is contagious, which is also good for missionary work. We always have a good time with our friends. 

We are both Zone Leaders in a newly organized Nagasaki Zone. When I got to Japan, the mission was only about 70 missionaries because it was difficult to get Visas. Now the mission has grown to 140, and it will become 190 by the time I leave in October! I used to have 43 missionaries in my zone, but now it's just 18, which makes things a lot easier for me.

I also want to talk about one of our friends, Rin san. She's from Indonesia. It's been 3 weeks since she received a book of Mormon and she's read all the way through 1 Nephi! She wants to be baptized, but always works on Sunday so it's been difficult.


I've been here for 3 weeks, but I've already experienced the 2 biggest events that happen in Nagasaki: 

Peace Memorial Day, the annual ceremony of the day the bomb happened in Nagasaki. While we were talking 

Shourou Nagashi, a festival to celebrate ancestors. People parade through town with big boats that they build with their family names. 

There are about 20 members in Nagasaki. Yesterday, I gave a talk at church about my family history. I also played the cello at church. There's a lot more things that happened that I'm not writing, but I'm having fun everyday!

Aloha,

Elder Tano



110 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page