top of page
  • Writer's pictureKahaluu Bishop

Kahalu'u Ward Message 7/2/23

Aloha Kahaluu Ohana, Exactly one year ago today started as a normal, busy morning for me. KC went to work while the rest of us had two soccer games and a softball practice to get to.


Whenever my kids have practices, I go walking to kill time. That day I had Shae strapped to my back and Koen in the stroller. As challenging as it can get, I got into the mindset that these walks were making me stronger and the time outside in nature allowed me to destress.


But I quickly lost that mentality the moment KC called to say my Grandma Howard had passed away unexpectedly early that morning. Just a month earlier, she fell and had hip surgery the week of Elsie’s birthday. Since she was unable to fly, Grandma missed Elsie’s baptism. Because of that, we quickly made plans to go to the BI to visit her and my parents. That flight was supposed to be in THREE days.


The weight of Shae became heavier and pushing Koen felt never ending. All I wanted to do was go home. The day just wouldn’t end. Grandma’s service was planned for the following month…but the hits kept coming as our household tested positive for Covid so none of us could fly.


In those few months, my walks didn’t mean the same as they used to. I didn’t have the best attitude despite having the knowledge of the gospel. I refused to accept that this was how things were supposed to happen. It’s been a challenge to get back to where I was spiritually one entire year ago, but thankfully with the support of friends, family, and the Church…I’m hopeful:)


“Don't you quit. You keep walking. You keep trying. There is help and happiness ahead. Some blessings come soon, some come late, and some don’t come until heaven; but for those who embrace the gospel of Jesus Christ, they come. It will be all right in the end. Trust God and believe in good things to come.” ― Elder Jeffrey R. Holland


Ke aloha nō,

Kyra Chun

Primary President


Meeting Schedule & Links

  • June 11, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting Program: CLICK HERE

Announcements


  • Missionary Meals: Our missionaries need meals and visits! Please sign up to meet with the Elders using this MEAL CALENDAR, or call them at (808) 379-8012.

  • JULY: Hawaii Temple & Family History Newsletter

  • July 2, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting @ Waikalua Chapel

  • July 6, Thursday 6:30 pm - Primary Activities @ Waikalua Chapel

  • July 5-8, Wednesday-Saturday - Youth Retreat

  • July 9, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting @ Waikalua Chapel

  • July 9, Sunday 6:30 ~ 8:30 pm - Seminary Open House @ Waikalua Chapel

  • July 13, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night @ Waikalua Chapel

  • July 16, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting @ Waikalua Chapel

  • July 16, Sunday 4 pm - Youth Council @ Bishop’s Office

  • July 16, Sunday 6:30 pm - SED @ Bishop’s House

  • July 20, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night @ Waikalua Chapel

  • July 23, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting @ Waikalua Chapel

  • July 27, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night @ Waikalua Chapel














125 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page