top of page
  • Writer's pictureKahaluu Bishop

Kahalu'u Ward Message 7/17/22

Aloha my Brothers and Sisters,

As I have served you in capacity as Bishop for Kahalu’u Ward is has been a reward and a blessing to get to know more of you on a deeper level. I only wish I had more time to share with all of you. I have enjoyed the strengthening of our relationships, the trust we have gained, and I sincerely and prayerfully keep you in my thoughts. I would like to share a 3 part message with you over the next 3 weeks in our ward email messages, as I have felt prompted to do so.


Part I: Opposition, spurs growth

As you know, one of the key doctrines found in the Book of Mormon is that there must be an opposition in all things. A world with opposites provides choices between good and evil so that agency can operate. Equally important, is the principle that opposition must exist for spiritual growth to occur—as father Lehi put it, “For it must needs be, that there is an opposition in all things. If not so…righteousness could not be brought to pass…” (2 Nephi 2:11).

These challenges of opposition can come in many forms. It may involve forces of nature. It may result from injury, illness or disease. It may be in the form of loneliness or physical or mental disabilities. Sometimes opposition and hardship can even come from of our own misguided choices—the list of opposing forces is endless, but so are the blessings of personal growth and development if we have the faith to lean on the Savior, whose Atonement provides a way for us to mend everything that is broken.

From my own life’s challenges, even including the last few weeks dealing with a family health concern, I can testify that opposition and adversity have demanded my faith to be put to the test, and over and over, that faith has grown stronger and stronger because I have come through situations that have required leaning on the wisdom, love and mercy of God to see miracles and blessings that continue to occur despite the limitations of my own capabilities and know-how.

Lastly, listening to my son’s Patriarchal Blessing last week, I was reminded that the children on Earth in this dispensation of time are among our Heavenly Father’s noble sons and daughters, and much is expected of us. As Lehi taught, our growth and holiness can only be brought to pass through adversity and testing. Embracing this principle is a key to accepting and being generally happy with life.

With Love, Bishop Tano

Kahalu'u Ward



Meeting Schedule & Links

  • Sacrament Meeting 2 pm @Waikalua Chapel

  • Sacrament Meeting Program: CLICK HERE

Announcements

  • Missionary Meals: Our missionaries need meals and visits! Please sign up to meet with the Elders using this calendar, or call them at (808) 379-8012.

  • July 17, Sunday 7 pm - Youth SED Postponed

  • July 19, Tuesday 7 pm - T&FH Training Meeting @Zoom https://us02web.zoom.us/j/87227971646?pwd=e_C8mF-JSSgRVIhi4MCkcChTyxAVNf.1

  • July 21, Thursday 6:30 pm - Primary Activity @Waikalua Chapel

  • July 21, Thursday 6:30 pm Youth Night @Waikalua Chapel

  • July 24, Sunday 11 am - Ward Council @Zoom

  • July 24, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting @Waikalua Chapel

  • July 24, Sunday 7 pm - Youth SED @Bishop's House

  • July 24, Sunday - Stake Youth Council Meeting
















140 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page