top of page
  • Writer's pictureKahaluu Bishop

Kahalu'u Ward Message 6/9/24

Aloha Kahalu'u Ward,

The Kaneohe Young Single Adult (Kaneohe 6th) Branch had been practicing for a half-time performance for the upcoming Multi-stake singles dance. The performance would be: dancing to the oldies songs, Chapel of Love, and It’s in His Kiss. The choreography was done by the singles themselves. The performance was a huge success. (Google the songs if you’re a youngster, they’re quite catchy from the early 60’s.)

During one of the midweek practices, I went up to our Branch Mission Leader and said, “You know, Walter, I’m not into dancing.” Dancing is absolutely not me, and I was trying to make trouble with Walter. His reply put me in my place and has remained with me all these years. 

He said, “Yeah, President, I’m not into dancing either, but I am into participating.”


Bro. Terence Miyahana

Ward High Councilman




Sacrament Meeting Schedule & Program

June 9, Sunday 2 PM - Sacrament Meeting Program:  CLICK HERE 

Zoom Link for Sacrament Meeting available upon request. Contact Bishop Tano or Bro. Hirokawa.


Ward Camp Sign Up Form:  https://forms.gle/ZX2z4RATkNGLKTwd7

Announcements

  • Missionary Meals:  May/June Calendar needs attention please. Elder Hamblin (L) & Elder Stone (R) need meals and visits! Please sign up to meet with the Elders using this MEAL CALENDAR, or call them at (808) 379-8012.

  • Sign up to get free church magazines delivered to your home: CLICK HERE

  • JUNE: Hawaii Temple & Family History Newsletter 

  • Jun 9, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Jun 9, Sunday 2 pm - YSA Open House Sacrament Meeting @ Kailua Chapel

  • Jun 13, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Jun 16, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting Father’s Day @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Jun 16, Sunday 4 pm - Youth Council @ Bishops Office 

  • Jun 16, Sunday 7 pm - SED @ Bishops House 

  • Jun 17-22, Kahalu’u Ward Camp @ Bellows Air Force Base

  • June 25, Tuesday 11 am - Funeral Services for Larry Saizon @ Keolu Hills Chapel


Missionary Corner


This past 2 weeks might have been the busiest I've been on my mission! I wish I had enough time to talk about all of my experiences, but I'll just talk about 2:

One day me and my comp felt that we should visit an inactive member and a specific persons face (who I only met once) came to mind. I visited them once a couple of months ago and knew what the apartment looked like, but couldn't find her address. We started just taking random turns whenever we thought we had to, and somehow ended up at her apartment. We went at the right time because if her husband was home, he wouldn't let us visit. Her husband was actually baptized by Uncle Troy Yamada! She's been worried recently because her son just became a missionary in Nagoya, but we were an answer to her prayers. We reminded her of her son on his mission now. She said "If my son is doing what you guys are doing, showing love to people in need, then I am very happy" Since our visit, she's been coming to church every week and always greets us with the biggest smile. Definitely a spirit led experience.

Right after that visit, we ran late to our dinner appointment with someone named Ayaka san. She's in her 20s and seemed like she had no interest in the gospel the first time we met, but we met with her again a second time hoping something could happen. Since we were late, the restaurant was busy and we ended up having to get take-out and go to this sketch park at night. It was full of cringe Japanese highschool couples... Anyways, we talked and laughed with her a lot and then she opened up to us. 

She asked "why are you two such good people?" and asked us about what we believe about God and families! Ayaka told us that she has a 1 year old son and that she wants us to meet and play with him. This was also a spirit led experience because I dont think she would have opened up to us at a loud okonomiyaki restaurant. We went to the park with Ayaka this week and played with her son. It was awesome. She's not interested in learning the gospel yet, but I'm happy now because I feel like I'm being an instrument in the hands of the Lord. 


Aloha,

Elder Tano



129 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page