top of page
  • Writer's pictureKahaluu Bishop

Kahalu'u Ward Message 6/12/22

Updated: Jun 19, 2022

Aloha Ward Family,

As I was invited to prepare a ward message, I was contemplating on what to focus my message on. As recently being called as the ward mission leader I thought a lot about the importance of missionary work. To start I would like to share an experience I had from my mission.

While serving in Phoenix Arizona, I had the opportunity to preach the gospel in Spanish. In one of my areas, we got a referral from a recently baptized family to share our message with their grandparents, who were very religious people. Their names were Samuel and Luz and they were an 80 year old couple from Puerto Rico. They were so friendly and kind inviting us in to eat and always welcomed us into their home. After our first visit, my companion and I made the snap judgement that this guy will never change his mind on the gospel. He is very comfortable in his current church.

As our lessons went on, we taught the restoration of the Gospel through the prophet Joseph Smith multiple times. They agreed with what we were teaching but couldn’t quite grasp the concept of having Christ one true restored Church back on the earth. During one lesson, I had a strong prompting to share one of President Nelson’s recent conference talks. They allowed us to use their TV and we all sat there and watched it together. As the video concluded, the first thing they said was, “wow! That man is a prophet of God.”

After inviting them to pray once again about the restoration and the Book of Mormon, we came back the next time and invited them to be baptized. In tears of joy, they accepted the invitation and were baptized a few weeks later. As we finished their lessons, they would bring more and more of their friends from their other congregation over to hear us teach! At a moment we had up to 7 people coming over their house to join in our lessons. Two other of their friends, Liliana and Leti, were later baptized and joined them in that ward.

This memory is one of my most cherished memories I have from my mission. As a missionary you learn that all you can do is invite people to act and experience the gospel for themselves. It doesn’t matter how smart you are about the gospel or how good of a teacher you are. Those that are prepared to hear the gospel and feel the spirit are those that become converted.

Elder Ballard shared, “Some members say, “I’m afraid to share the gospel because I might offend someone.” Experience has shown that people are not offended when the sharing is motivated by the spirit of love and concern. How could anyone be offended when we say something like this: “I love the way my church helps me” and then add whatever the Spirit directs. It’s when we appear only to be fulfilling an assignment and we fail to express real interest and love that we offend others.”

With my new calling I have had the blessing to get to know and work side by side with our amazing three missionaries in our ward, Elder Woodruff, Elder Carlson, and Elder Nalder. Being from Hawaii I know that it’s natural for us to be friendly and kind and to have that aloha spirit, especially towards the missionaries. Whether that be honking and saying hi as you drive by them, shaking their hands at church or having a quick little conversation with them in passing at church.

However, I can be the first to admit that my relationship with the missionaries in the past was more passive than proactive. With my new calling I have been able to sit down with them, get to know them, and feel the spirit. I know that the idea of missionary work can be a little intimidating, especially with how sensitive some topics of religion have become in our society. But I would just like to invite everyone to invite the missionaries into their home whether it be dinner or just a 15-minute lesson. Allow them to bring their spirit into your home and get to know these fine young men.

I love you all and hope you have an amazing week!

With aloha,

Dayton Dano Kahalu’u Ward Mission Leader


Meeting Schedule & Links

  • Sacrament Meeting 2 pm @Waikalua Chapel

  • Sacrament Meeting Program: CLICK HERE

Announcements



  • Missionary Meals: Our missionaries need meals and visits! Please sign up to meet with the Elders using this calendar, or call them at (808) 379-8012.

  • June 12, Sunday 2pm - Sacrament Meeting @Waikalua Chapel

  • June 16, Thursday 6:30 pm - Primary Activities @Waikalua Chapel

  • June 16, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night @Waikalua Chapel

  • June 17, Friday 2:30pm (Meet at King School) - Deacon Campout @Bellows

  • June 18, Saturday 1pm - 10pm - Pre-FSY (14-18 year-olds) @Keolu Chapel

  • June 18, Saturday 10:30am - 4pm - Kahaluu Ward Summer BBQ @Kualoa Beach Park

  • June 19, Sunday 11:00am - Youth Council @Zoom

  • June 19, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting @Waikalua Chapel

  • June 19, Sunday 7pm - Youth SED @Bishop’s House











28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page