top of page
  • Writer's pictureKahaluu Bishop

Kahalu'u Ward Message 6/23/24

“Gods work will not fail”, the first line we read in the come follow me lesson for this week. No matter how many times Alma felt like he failed the Lord in his efforts to teach the people of Ammonihah, he was continually guided by Heavenly Father, and blessed for continuing his work. Throughout our lives we can face setbacks and challenges that may cause his to have doubt in our faith. I am definitely guilty of being frustrated with setbacks and confused why they may be happening to me of all people. But as I continue to stay faithful and serve Lord, I have truly been able to see the blessings in the gospel, and also help others receive these blessings themselves. In the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.


Malia Kaonohi,

YW Laurel's President




Sacrament Meeting Schedule & Program

June 23, Sunday 2 PM - Sacrament Meeting Program:  CLICK HERE 

Zoom Link for Sacrament Meeting available upon request. Contact Bishop Tano or Bro. Hirokawa.


Announcements

  • Missionary Meals:  June/July Calendar needs attention please. Elder Hamblin (L) & Elder Stone (R) need meals and visits! Please sign up to meet with the Elders using this MEAL CALENDAR, or call them at (808) 379-8012.

  • Sign up to get free church magazines delivered to your home: CLICK HERE

  • JUNE: Hawaii Temple & Family History Newsletter 

  • Jun 23, Sunday 4 pm - Youth Council @ Bishop's Office 

  • Jun 23, Sunday 7 pm - SED @ Bishop's House 

  • June 25, Tuesday 11 am - Funeral Services for Larry Saizon @ Keolu Hills Chapel

  • June 27, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night @ (Check with Youth Leaders to know the location)

  • June 29, Saturday 4-9 pm - Pre-FSY Stake Activity @ Kailua Chapel

  • June 30, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting @ Waikalua Chapel

  • July 4, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night @ Waikalua Chapel

  • July 4, Thursday 6:30 pm - Primary Activities @ Waikalua Chapel

  • July 7, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting (Fast Sunday) @ Waikalua Chapel

  • July 8 - 13 Monday - Saturday - FSY @ BYU Hawaii 



Missionary Corner


When I left home I told myself to take one last look back at each of my loved ones as if I'd never see them again. Once I entered the doors to the MTC, I was ready and had prepared myself to face the possibility of losing one of them while out on the field. At least I thought I did. Truth is, you can never fully prepare yourself for the event of losing someone you love. It really is a different type of hurt, especially while on a mission. 

For those who may not know, my Grandpa graduated this life & went up to that great big mansion in the sky a few weeks ago. He truly was a second father to me. I'd lived with him my entire life & made so many memories and spent so much time with him. He really is a huge part as to who I am and why I am. So hearing the sudden news of his decline and his passing was inevitably one of the hardest days of my life. 

As Missionaries & members of the church, we talk a lot about the Plan of Salvation but having to trust in it and see the process of it is a lot easier said than done. To be real, when I initially got the news of what had happened I crashed out. Things thrown around, punching walls, the whole temper tantrum nine yards haha. But after a bit of a meltdown, I stopped and took a second to really breathe and think. I got on my knees and cried to the Lord. Not upset with Him, not angry or questioning Him, but thanking Him. Just being genuinely grateful to the Lord. My Grandpa had been in pain for a long time & he had finally moved on to a place where he can rest and be reunited with his loved ones who've been waiting for him. He doesn't have to go to dialysis every other day and get his shots at night, he doesn't have to take a million different pills every morning and night. He's at peace. And in that moment of expressing my gratitude for the Lord I felt the comfort of knowing that His plan for us is truly to bring us comfort, guidance, and most importantly to bring us home. It truly is a blessing to have this gospel in our lives. Trust in His plan my friends and family. It's not easy to do, but nothing truly worth having ever is. Place His will over your own and I promise you'll see the change and the blessings that'll come into your life. 


Aloha,

Elder Afualo



182 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page