top of page
  • Writer's pictureKahaluu Bishop

Kahalu'u Ward Message 6/18/23

Aloha Kahaluu Ohana, I was about 12, and my dad came home from work to see me in front of the garage, with a bowl of gasoline next to the open gas can. I was trying to light a rope of paper towels that led to the bowl to "see what would happen"! Luckily, he got there before I blew up my face or the house. I didn't get lickings because he was so dumbfounded (or patient!).

On another occasion, he climbed about 40' up a monkey-pod tree in our back yard to tie a rope swing for us. He was about to climb down the rope he had just tied, when he felt a strong prompting from the Spirit, to "Test the rope". He didn't ignore the prompting and called me to try it. I jumped up and took a swing, and the rope broke about 35' above my head. If he hadn't been obedient to the Spirit, he could have gotten badly hurt, or worse. I am grateful for being blessed with a dad who tried to follow our Savior. He was my teacher, my example, provided for us and led our home in righteousness. His leadership in our family continues to this day.

In a conference talk, Elder L. Tom Perry said: "Surely we have learned by now, from experience over centuries, that the basic family provides the most stable and secure foundation for society and is fundamental to the preparation of young people for their future responsibilities."

In giving priesthood blessings, leading family prayer, service to others and striving to be a Christ Like example, a father's actions can influence generations. Happy Father's Day! Kaihaku Chun Elders Quorum


Meeting Schedule & Links

  • June 11, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting Program: CLICK HERE

Announcements


  • Missionary Meals: Our missionaries need meals and visits! Please sign up to meet with the Elders using this MEAL CALENDAR, or call them at (808) 379-8012.

  • JUNE: Hawaii Temple & Family History Newsletter

  • June 22, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night @ Waikalua Chapel

  • June 25, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting @ Waikalua Chapel

  • June 25, Sunday 6:30 pm - SED @ Bishop’s House

  • June 25, Sunday 7:00 pm - Come & See Fireside @ Kailua Chapel

  • June 29, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night @ Waikalua Chapel

  • July 2, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting @ Waikalua Chapel

  • July 6, Thursday 6:30 pm - Primary Activities @ Waikalua Chapel

  • July 5-8, Wednesday-Saturday - Youth Retreat












101 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page