top of page
  • Writer's pictureKahaluu Bishop

Kahalu'u Ward Message 5/26/24

Updated: May 26

Aloha Kahaluu Ward,

I attended my nephews homecoming talk this past weekend. He has fulfilled his 2 years and returned with honor from Laoag, Philippines mission. He gave an inspiring talk and read this familiar poem that I had not heard for a while. It was a nice reminder of the Saviors love for us


“Footprints in the Sand”

One night I dreamed a dream.

As I was walking along the beach with my Lord.

Across the dark sky flashed scenes from my life.

For each scene, I noticed two sets of footprints in the sand,

One belonging to me and one to my Lord.

After the last scene of my life flashed before me,

I looked back at the footprints in the sand.

I noticed that at many times along the path of my life,

especially at the very lowest and saddest times,

there was only one set of footprints.

This really troubled me, so I asked the Lord about it.

"Lord, you said once I decided to follow you,

You'd walk with me all the way.

But I noticed that during the saddest and most troublesome times of my life,

there was only one set of footprints.

I don't understand why, when I needed You the most, You would leave me."

He whispered, "My precious child, I love you and will never leave you

Never, ever, during your trials and testings.

When you saw only one set of footprints,

It was then that I carried you."


Aloha,

Bro. Paliku KahalepunaSunday School President




Sacrament Meeting Schedule & Program

May 26, Sunday 2 PM - Sacrament Meeting Program:  CLICK HERE 

Zoom Link for Sacrament Meeting available upon request. Contact Bishop Tano or Bro. Hirokawa.

Ward Camp Sign Up Form https://forms.gle/ZX2z4RATkNGLKTwd7

Announcements

  • Missionary Meals:  May/June Calendar needs attention please. Elder Hamblin (L) & Elder Stone (R) need meals and visits! Please sign up to meet with the Elders using this MEAL CALENDAR, or call them at (808) 379-8012.

  • Sign up to get free church magazines delivered to your home: CLICK HERE

  • MAY: Hawaii Temple & Family History Newsletter 

  • May 30, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Jun 2,  Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Jun 3-7, Mon-Fri, YM High Adventure Camp @ Molokai’i 

  • Jun 4-7, Tue-Fri, YW Girls Camp

  • Jun 6, Thursday 6:30 pm - Primary Activities @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Jun 9, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Jun 13, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Jun 16, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting Father’s Day @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Jun 16, Sunday 4 pm - Youth Council @ Bishops Office 

  • Jun 16, Sunday 7 pm - SED @ Bishops House 

  • Jun 17-22, Kahalu’u Ward Camp @ Bellows Air Force Base


Missionary Corner


Despite being sick for the past two weeks and not being able to really go out, we are still able to make phone calls and received some good news that our friend, Fugaʻa, who finished the lessons, is very close to being baptized! So excited and hopefully I'll be not disgusting and can be around people again so we can get him baptized lol

My spiritual thought this week comes from a general conference talk. Being that I've been kinda out of the work the past couple weeks, I really needed a pick me up. So I've been trying to reread this past conference's talks. I read from our new apostle, Elder Kearon. His talk, "God's Intent Is to Bring You Home" is a reminder that Heveanly Father is always in our corner, and I think we all need to remember that so I'm gonna remind you guys lol Elder Kearon speaks of the many names of Heavenly Father's "fabulous plan", as President Nelson called it, for us. The Plan of Mercy, The Plan of Happiness, The Plan of Redemption, and of course, The Plan of Salvation. Elder Kearon speaks on how this plan is mercy for US, is for OUR happiness, OUR redemption, OUR salvation. Heavenly Father wants all of us home with Him after this life. Any feeling contrary to that fact is of the adversary. Often, that feeling comes about during our trials and tribulations. However, if we are reminding ourselves of the truth, that we are wanted by Heavenly Father, by reading our scriptures and following the teachings of the church, we keep our minds stable and latched to the truths of the gospel. 2 Nephi 26:27 reads, "Hath he commanded any that they should not partake of his salvation? Behold I say unto you, Nay; but he hath given it free for all men; and he hath commanded his people that they should persuade all men to repentance." We know Heavenly Father doesn't tell anyone that He doesn't want them to return to Him, so why should we make that a thought in our minds? I'll answer for all of you lol we shouldn't. At the end of the day, we all have our agency and we can either use that to choose Him or lean on our own understanding, which is nothing compared to His infinite and omnipotent knowledge. But as Elder Kearon stated, "God is in relentless pursuit of you." DO NOT forget that.

That spiritual thought was a little longer than usual but I had a boring week so I didn't have anything else to write about lol but sorry yall foreals tryna get better so I have a real update for you guys. Please keep my soa and I in your prayers:) you all are always in ours. Annnnnyways, ou te alofa tele mo outou!! Toe talanoa atili i le vaiaso fou!!

Alofas,

Sister Fano <3



124 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page