top of page
  • Writer's pictureKahaluu Bishop

Kahalu'u Ward Message 4/28/24

Aloha Kahalu'u Ward Ohana,

This has been a busy weekend for our family! It started with my sisters birthday, plus our rugby club is hosting a family camp in Kakela. We also had to juggle a baby shower, band concert, eye appointments, an 80th birthday luau... and my nephew Makana going through the temple for the first time and getting sealed to his wife and young keiki for time and for all eternity.

The weekend has been hectic and busy, but we were determined to make it to the temple. As we started to leave the camp, the festivities and activities were getting started, and it started to rain. It would have been easier to stay, but we decided to get to the temple. When Danny and I made it through those temple doors and left the busy world behind, I felt the sweet, familiar feeling of peace come over me and life became very simple. My mind became calm and focused, and I felt the Saviors love and comfort that only temple blessings can bring. As we witnessed Makana and his lovely wife seal their ohana for time and for all eternity, it reminded me of Prophet Nelson's reminder to us all;

"I promise that increased time in the temple will bless your life in ways nothing else can."

-Russell M. Nelson

Life can get hectic and busy; but let's always make time for the Lord and receive the sweet blessings of attending the temple. 


Aloha,

Melanie Afualo

Relief Society President





Meeting Schedule & Links Apr 28, Sunday 2 PM - Sacrament Meeting Program

Sis. Joanna Ah Nee Missionary Homecoming:  CLICK HERE 

Zoom Link for Sacrament Meeting available upon request. Contact Bishop Tano or Bro. Hirokawa.


Announcements

  • Missionary Meals:  April Calendar needs attention please. Elder Hamblin (L) & Elder Stone (R) need meals and visits! Please sign up to meet with the Elders using this MEAL CALENDAR, or call them at (808) 379-8012.


  • Sign up to get free church magazines delivered to your home: CLICK HERE

  • APRIL: Hawaii Temple & Family History Newsletter

  • April 28, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting @ Waikalua Chapel 

  • April 28, Sunday 6:30 pm - SED @ Bishops House

  • May 2, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night (Etiquette Dinner Prep) @ Waikalua Chapel

  • May 2, Thursday 6:30 pm - Primary Activities @ Waikalua Chapel

  • May 4, Saturday 6:30 pm - Youth Etiquette Dinner @ Keolu Chapel 

  • May 5, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting @ Waikalua Chapel 

  • May 9, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night @ Waikalua Chapel

  • May 10-11 Fri/Sat - Stake YM Priesthood Camp 

  • May 12, 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting (Mother’s Day) @ Waikalua Chapel




Missionary Corner

Before I left on my mission my brother told me to bring an ukulele and play it while I walk through the streets of Japan. I told him "nah, that's not my thing." 

Here I am, 18 months later, doing the exact thing that I said I would never do. So what changed? I let go of my pride! I'll do whatever it takes and use whatever random talents I have to serve the Lord. And do it with no shame too. Even if it means singing I Am a Child of God to Japanese grannys or getting filmed for a highschooler's instagram story. 

I go on a lot of exchanges now. I went on 2 exchanges this week; with the APs, and with Elder Galoul. OYM means "open your mouth" and talk to everyone that you see, and thats exactly what we did. Me and Elder Galoul saw a ton of miracles in his area. Not kidding, we were able to get the contacts of everyone that we talked to. Some people were even stopping us when they heard the sound of the ukulele. They ended up getting 91 people to their church activity! At the end of the day though, miracles don't happened because of my ukulele playing; it comes from exercising faith.


Aloha,

Elder Tano



141 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

댓글


bottom of page