top of page
  • Writer's pictureKahaluu Bishop

Kahalu'u Ward Message 4/14/24

Updated: Apr 13

Aloha Kahalu’u Ohana, This past conference Saturday I had to work first thing in the morning.  Most days during my commute I listen to different podcasts and this morning was no different.  However, as I turned up the H3 from Kaneohe my latest podcast had just ended, and I remembered that the Saturday morning session had started an hour or so earlier.  So, I opened my LDS Library app and clicked on the General Conference link, wow the power of technology.  As I rounded the corner, I couldn’t help but think about how gray and windy the weather has been over the past 2 weeks and how it seemed to be having an impact on my attitude.  As I rounded around the bend with the Tetsuo Harano Tunnels coming into view a beam of light was trying to penetrate through the clouds over the mountains and then I heard the words.  “All that, and much more, began with a boy’s desperate prayer and a pillar of light. We too have our own desperate needs. We too need freedom from spiritual confusion and worldly darkness. We too need to know for ourselves."  That is one reason President Russell M. Nelson has invited us to “immerse [ourselves] in the glorious light of the Restoration.” One of the great truths of the Restoration is that the heavens are open—that we too can receive light and knowledge from on high. I testify that is true.”               

As I continued to listen to the talk from Elder Alexander Dushku of the Seventy, I couldn’t help but think about my daily commute from Kaneohe to Waipahu.  As winter turns into spring the nights get shorter and the days get longer.  This means that as I leave in the darkness of the early dawn the sun starts to rise much earlier so as I come out from the H3 down into Halawa valley each morning it has become brighter more and more each passing day.  Just as Joseph Smith describes his path of learning, line upon line, precept upon precept, here a little there a little, I know that on those dark days a little ray of light along with another ray of light and then another has the chance to push back against the dark cloudy days.  Like moths to a flame, we are drawn to the light in the darkness.  It is my prayer that we will also be drawn to our savior in the same manner to be able to bask in his light in Jesus name Amen.

Bro. Jeff Tom2nd Counselor, Kahalu'u Ward



Meeting Schedule & LinksApr 14, Sunday 2 PM - Sacrament Meeting Program:  CLICK HERE 

Zoom Link for Sacrament Meeting available upon request. Contact Bishop Tano or Bro. Hirokawa.


Announcements

  • Missionary Meals:  April Calendar needs attention please. Elder Hamblin (L) & Elder Stone (R) need meals and visits! Please sign up to meet with the Elders using this MEAL CALENDAR, or call them at (808) 379-8012.


  • Sign up to get free church magazines delivered to your home: CLICK HERE

  • APRIL: Hawaii Temple & Family History Newsletter

  • April 14, Sunday, 4:05 pm - YM High Adventure Parent Meeting @ RS Room

  • April 18, Thursday 4:30/5:30 pm  - Youth Temple Baptisms (not Deacons) @ Kahalu'u Park 

  • April 18, Thursday - Ward Temple Day (pick your own session)

  • April 20, Saturday 6 pm - Kahalu’u Ward Dinner @ Waikalua Chapel

  • April 21, Sunday 2 pm - Kahalu’u Ward Conference @ Waikalua Chapel 

  • April 21, Sunday 4 pm - Youth Council @ Bishops Office 

  • April 21, Sunday 7 pm - SED @ Bishops House





Missionary Corner

Talofa lava friends and family!

My goodness I feel like I always have the most things ever to tell you guys everytime I jump on here to write my email. Things have been very crazy this past week but in the best way possible. Can't tell you guys how much the work is MOVING out here and I couldn't be happier.

Number one highlight from this past week was from this evening. Just to give some background, we met a guy named Hanipale. His wife is a member and we began teaching him lessons on Saturday and finished teaching the lessons by yesterday. Then yesterday evening he had his baptism interview and just this evening, he got baptized! They really move things fast over here lol but I really am so happy to have my first baptism. Heavenly Father has really blessed me and my soa with such wonderful opportunities to share the gospel. In his testimony, Hanipale shared that he didn't like the church at one point. It was a reminder to me to always share the gospel with everyone because you never know who might need it in their life and they might not realize that they need it in their life.


Aloha,

Sister Fano



164 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Коментарі


bottom of page