top of page
  • Writer's pictureKahaluu Bishop

Kahalu'u Ward Message 3/5/23

Aloha Kahalu'u Ward, My son Braden and his wife Susie recently had a baby girl, my first grandchild! They named her Ho`olana, which is "to float or uplift", and also translates to "Be of good cheer". The same week she was born, Elder Holland spoke at a Worldwide Devotional and taught us "to face the future as cheerfully as possible. Someone wrote once that of all the encouragement Christ extends to us in the scriptures, of all the hope He repeatedly offers to us, that which we repeatedly fail to accept is the encouragement to “be of good cheer.” May we please take Christ at His word? Could we just try it? May we embrace that happy, hope-filled invitation tonight as we seize yet another chance to start a new year and make of our life exactly what we want it to be." While I think I am actually much more pessimistic, this message resonates with me. If not to bring me cheer, then what is the purpose of my testimony of the Gospel of Jesus Christ? Through difficult or challenging experiences, my Savior's plan is perfect, and these things have the purpose of helping me to be more like Him. If we could see as He sees, the big picture, the whole picture, then we would have more cheer. For Ho`olana, I hope her name reminds her and inspires her through her life to have that cheer as well. Press forward with a steadfastness in Christ, having a perfect brightness of hope, and a love of God and of all men.” - 2 Nephi 31:20 Aloha, Kaihaku Chun Elders Quorum


Meeting Schedule & Links

  • Sacrament Meeting (Elder Enoch Candari Farewell) 2 pm @Waikalua Chapel

  • Sacrament Meeting Program: CLICK HERE

Announcements

  • Missionary Meals: Our missionaries need meals and visits! Please sign up to meet with the Elders using this MEAL CALENDAR, or call them at (808) 379-8012.

  • MARCH: Hawaii Temple & Family History Newsletter

  • Mar 5, Sunday 2:00 pm - Sacrament Meeting @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Mar 9, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Mar 16, Thursday 6:30 pm - Primary Activities @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Mar 16, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Mar 19, Sunday 2:00 pm - Sacrament Meeting @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Mar 19, Sunday 6:30 pm - Baptism for Wesson Mills @ Keolu Hills Chapel

  • Mar 26, Sunday 2:00 pm - Sacrament Meeting @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Mar 30, Thursday TBD - Youth Temple Baptisms @ Laie Temple

  • April 1, Saturday 6 am, 10 am, 2 pm - April 2023 General Conference Sessions

  • April 2, Sunday 6 am, 10 am - April 2023 General Conference Sessions

Missionary Corner


This week was a roller-coaster ride for sure, I had days that were good and that were bad, we got our last roommate in our room that literally only speaks Italian and Spanish so there's now 2 fluent Italian guys in our from it is crazy, during the week I was struggling with the language and what helped was I thought to myself "how was mu Italian 2 weeks ago" and this thought made me laugh cuz the first thing I said was dog poop so it made me realize I am improving everyday in Italian even if I don't know it.

- Elder Vilardi






Loving it so far and the people I have met. The finding will come just have to keep working hard and talking to as much people as we can. Love you all so much and thank you all for the support you give me. Remember to read you scriptures and say your prayers daily. It will brighten up your week.

- Elder Dano


This week has been great! We had so much success in all of our works and efforts. We were able to meet with so many members and I feel like I have grown so close with the members in my branch.


A lot of people seem to complain about how hard missionary work is, but this week it didn't feel hard at all. I mean of course the work is difficult, I'm definitely not saying it's easy. But this week I learned that missionary work can be fun and feel easy. It all depends on the attitude that you carry as you do the work. And this can apply to everything that you do. If you carry a bad and lazy attitude, you're not going to like and enjoy the week. And the work is going to feel long and tiring. But if you carry a positive and happy attitude, you will love the work and it will move and feel quick.

- Elder Kekaula


Here's a scripture I really liked this past week: "Thus God has provided a means that man, through faith, might work mighty miracles; therefore he becometh a great benefit to his fellow beings." - Mosiah 8:18. I liked this scripture because of the miracles that can come from the effort we put in our everyday lives. This past week was pretty tough but I was still able to see small miracles. I know that when we put our trust in God and always put our effort into the things we are doing. God will bless us and we will be able to see miracles in our lives.

- Elder Kaonohi


Wow! It's been an AMAZING week! So much has happened!

Some highlights:

- went to the temple as a zone and it was such a special experience! It's been like 9 months since I've done a session so it was definitely the spiritual reedification that I needed!

- reunited with & gave a temple tour to 2 of the people we were teaching in Koshigaya, and one of them started crying cuz she felt the spirit so strongly and was like "wow! I just love it bc we are all family!" I love them so much!

- Sister Suguturaga


I visited an inactive members apartment this week and read the Book of Mormon with him. His name is Miyamoto kyōdai. There's so many Miyamoto's in Japan so I'm not sure if he's related to the Miyamoto's I know. He doesn't come to church because his mom who is going to pass away soon told him not to. It's a sensitive topic so I wasn't sure what to say besides promising blessings if he comes to church.

- Elder Tano


So on Thursday I had the idea to post an "ad" for free English classes on one of the groups I'm in on Facebook. So far I have received multiple messages from people asking to learn English so I'm excited to contact all of them and teach them English as well as have a spiritual message. One of the people who contacted me is a golden investigator! His name is Sato-san and he has been going to church for a year! He called me on Thursday and we had a long phone call! He talked about how he LOVES THE CHURCH and missionaries. He showed me his Book of Mormon and his MANY gospel pamphlets! He then taught me (yes he taught me) about the plan of salvation and the need to be baptized in order to enter the highest kingdom. You may be wondering, "he sounds amazing so why is he not baptized yet". I asked myself that same question but I believe that Sato-san has a desire to be baptized so I'm excited to continue to contact him. Right now he lives in Canada but he is returning to Japan in March. It's amazing the influence that we as members of this church have on people. Sato-san shared with me how he has been to multiple churches and none come close to the "kind angels of the LDS church"

- Sister Ah Nee

168 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page