top of page
  • Writer's pictureKahaluu Bishop

Kahalu'u Ward Message 3/24/24

Aloha Kahalu’u Ward, 

This past week I was not feeling good. It started with a cough, which soon turned into a bad cough, then accompanied by fever, body aches, and chills. I thought I could just power through the sickness, but when the sickness held strong for three straight days I knew I had to go to the doctors. The doctors tested me for Covid, Flu, and RSV. The test results came back negative and the doctors said it was a good sign. He was certain I only had a cold and prescribed me to take cough medication. Three days later all my symptoms increased and I was so sick I couldn't even get out of bed. That's when I knew I needed something more powerful than medication. I needed a Priesthood Blessing. As I called one of my close friends, Kanoa Kanahele he quickly made time to see me as soon as he could. He came with two Melchizedek priesthood holders to assist him. As my head was anointed and then blessed by the power of the Melchizedek priesthood, I tried to resist the urge to cough, but when Kanoa addressed my lungs and sinuses, I could feel my lungs begin to open and my sinuses begin to clear and I began taking deep breathes. Something I couldn't do for days. The spirit reconfirmed to me that the priesthood power is real and I am so grateful to have a dear friend that is worthy and available to exercise it when needed. President Thomas S. Monson shared his feelings about the priesthood in a talk given during the priesthood session in April 2015 (The Priesthood - A Sacred Gift),  


“Brethren, each of us has been entrusted with one of the most precious gifts ever bestowed upon mankind. As we honor our priesthood and live our lives so that we are at all times worthy, the blessings of the priesthood will flow through us. I love the words found in the Doctrine and Covenants, section 121, verse 45, which tell us what we must do to be worthy: “Let thy bowels … be full of charity towards all men, and to the household of faith, and let virtue garnish thy thoughts unceasingly; then shall thy confidence wax strong in the presence of God; and the doctrine of the priesthood shall distil upon thy soul as the dews from heaven.”


Since that special priesthood blessing my health has been getting better and better. I am grateful for worthy priesthood holders in my life who I can count on to bless me, as well as being a worthy vessel to bless my own family or those who are in need. 

In the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.


Ben Hirokawa 

Kahalu’u Ward Executive Secretary



Meeting Schedule & Links

Mar 24, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting Program:  CLICK HERE 

Zoom Link for Sacrament Meeting available upon request. Contact Bishop Tano or Bro. Hirokawa.


Announcements

  • Missionary Meals: Elder Hamblin (L) & Elder Specner (R) need meals and visits! Please sign up to meet with the Elders using this MEAL CALENDAR, or call them at (808) 379-8012.


  • MARCH: Hawaii Temple & Family History Newsletter

  • Mar 24, Sunday 4:30 pm - Stake Youth Council Meeting @ Waikalua Chapel 

  • Mar 28, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night (YM only) @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Mar 28, Thursday 6-8 pm - Relief Society Birthday Celebration (w/YW) @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Mar 30, Saturday 10:30-12:30 PM - Primary Easter Activity @ Harris Residence

  • Apr 4, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night (Etiquette Dinner Kick-Off Event) @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Apr 4, Thursday 6:30 pm - Primary Activities @ Waikalua Chapel

  • April 6, Saturday  6 am, 10 am, 2 pm - April 2024 General Conference Sessions

  • April 7, Sunday  6 am, 10 am - April 2024 General Conference Sessions

  • April 11, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night (Etiquette Dinner Prep) @ Waikalua Chapel

  • April 14, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting (Fast Sunday) @ Waikalua Chapel


Missionary Corner

I almost got hit by a car. We were crossing the street and I saw that the cars were stopped so I began to cross. However, because the cars were blocking one side I couldn't see the cars coming from the other side. My companion was behind me when she saw the car coming. I still didn't see it but all I heard was her yell 待って!Just in time for me to stop and have her pull me back just in time for the car to pass by. 


There are so many miracles big and small that happen in our lives. We must be willing to open our eyes and appreciate the blessings that Heavenly Father blesses us with daily. I invite you all to pray and ask for help in recognizing God`s hand in your life. I know that as you do you will feel an overwhelming feeling of gratitude and find happiness and joy in the little things. 


Love you all so much! Talk to you next week!

愛しています!

アーニー姉妹




















165 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page