top of page
  • Writer's pictureKahaluu Bishop

Kahalu'u Ward Message 3/17/24

Aloha Kahalu'u Ward,

About 2 weeks ago the Laurels and Priests got together for our activity, and made cards and cookies for a few members of our ward. We were so joyous to be able to serve the members of our ward and give back as youth. Obviously being naive young adults, we didn’t really think much of it. It was just making cookies and creating cards to show people we love and appreciate them. But the response we received was so much more. Learning how much something so small and simple had an impact on the people we were able to serve, brought tears of joy to my eyes. Words cannot express how much my heart was filled to be able to serve others.


“Charity never faileth.” One of the purest love of Christ is charity. My parents are both huge exemplars of this in my life. Always teaching me and my siblings to be charitable, loving and kind towards others. When we do this, we too will feel loved and so filled with joy. It is important for us as members to continue to spread the love of Jesus to others.


These past couple of weeks have been a whirl wind of emotions for me. But I notice that as I continue to have love in my heart, and be more charitable towards others and less selfish, there is an immense shift in how I feel. I can testify that being loving towards others not only brings joy to them, but also joy to ourselves. I know that if we continue to strive to be more Christlike, we will be a light to others around us. In the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.


Malia Kaonohi

Laurel's President



Meeting Schedule & Links

Mar 17, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting Program:  CLICK HERE 

Zoom Link for Sacrament Meeting available upon request. Contact Bishop Tano or Bro. Hirokawa.


Announcements

  • Missionary Meals: Elder Hamblin (L) & Elder Specner (R) need meals and visits! Please sign up to meet with the Elders using this MEAL CALENDAR, or call them at (808) 379-8012.


  • MARCH: Hawaii Temple & Family History Newsletter

  • Mar 17, Sunday 4 pm - Youth Council @ Bishops Office 

  • Mar 17, Sunday 6:30 pm - SED @ Bishop’s Home 

  • Mar 21, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Mar 21, Thursday 6:30 pm - Primary Activities @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Mar 28, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night(YM only) @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Mar 28, Thursday 6-8 pm - Relief Society Birthday Celebration (w/YW) @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Mar 30, Saturday 12:30-2:30 PM - Primary Easter Activity @ Harris Residence

  • Apr 4, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night (Etiquette Dinner Kick-Off Event) @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Apr 4, Thursday 6:30 pm - Primary Activities @ Waikalua Chapel

  • April 6, Saturday  6 am, 10 am, 2 pm - April 2024 General Conference Sessions

  • April 7, Sunday  6 am, 10 am - April 2024 General Conference Sessions

  • April 11, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night (Etiquette Dinner Prep) @ Waikalua Chapel

  • April 14, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting (Fast Sunday) @ Waikalua Chapel


Missionary Corner

This week, I made it a point for us to study the Come Follow Me lessons during our Companionship Study so that we'd be able to understand what our members are learning & that we'd be able to participate more on Sundays. In this week's lesson, it went over 2 Nephi 21 talking about the period of time prophesied where there'd be peace throughout the world through Christ. In 2 Nephi 21:6-7 it reads:

6 The wolf also shall dwell with the lamb, and the leopard shall lie down with the kid, and the calf and the young lion and fatling together; and a little child shall lead them. 

7 And the cow and the bear shall feed; their young ones shall lie down together; and the lion shall eat straw like the ox.

Reading these two verses, I thought about how that state of Peace will be so strong that it'll cause the natural instincs within predator and prey to cease to the point where they lay together in harmony. Then my thought transitioned to how that peace will be for us as we won't get tempted by the natural man within us, like the animals described in scripture. 

And after a bit more pondering, I looked at my soa and asked; "What does Peace mean?". We both thought about it for a bit then looked it up & in the guide to the scriptures it describes Peace as "The inner calm and comfort born of the Spirit that God gives to His faithful Saints". Peace is born of the Spirit. There's a difference between being content and being at Peace. When you're content, you have the things that you want: achievements, success, money, you name it. But it'll always feel like something is missing. You could have the dream car, dream job, dream girl, and yet there's still something missing. When you have Peace, you have the Spirit with you in all things to comfort and guide you so that even if you don't have all the things of the world, you yourself feel whole. Some of the people I've met here come from humble shacks in the middle of nowhere countryside, but they find that Peace through the Lord & through that Spirit. 

I've made it a point to try and keep that Spirit with me lately through all the things that I do & I can say that the Peace I've felt through it is amazing. Even when my body is dead from a long day of working, I have that Peace. Even when things don't go right, I have that Peace. I encourage you to keep the Spirit with you and find that Peace. 

I'm really out here living the dream. I'm grateful for the opportunity that I have to be here & I'm grateful to my Heavenly Father for all that He's blessed me with. I trust in Him 100%. All I gotta do is put my best foot forward, give my best, & God will take care of the rest. I miss yous heaps, but I'm also locked in. The time really flies when you grind & I'm all in. I love you guys. Stay safe & have a great week! Or weeks haha, we'll see when next update comes. Love yous, stay safe, and take care ahh

- Elder Afualo




















120 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page