top of page
  • Writer's pictureKahaluu Bishop

Kahalu'u Ward Message 12/24/23

My Dearest Brothers & Sisters,


I think about you and pray for you constantly. I share in your worries and your joys that you graciously share with me, and I thank you for allowing me to be a part of your lives.  This feeling also extends to our Kahalu’u Ward full-time missionaries. 


Every month I take the opportunity to send them a group email to give an update of the latest ongoings in the Ward and in the Youth program.  I also like to acknowledge their growth and successes as well as give them words of encouragement.  I want our ward family to know that all of our sons and daughters in the mission field are doing amazing things out there and finding true joy in their service! 


I also try to coach them in my own little way sometimes. In my last email to them, I spoke of a Japanese word called IKIGAI.  It means "a motivating force; something that gives a person a sense of purpose or a reason for living". It also means something that brings a feeling of fulfillment.  For some, this search for ikigai can be a lifetime pursuit.  Finding purpose and joy begins as a mysterious chase.


As a missionary, each of them knows and are constantly teaching the purpose of life and where to find joy as learned in the Plan of Salvation. So fortunately, we possess a great knowledge and guidance in our lives....  but each of us still has that search for ikigai to pursue!  Knowing the Plan of Salvation is nice, but there is another level to unlock in finding YOUR role and YOUR purpose in that plan.  Where do you fit in as your own unique individual?  What is that purpose that fuels you every day and brings you joy?  How is your individual relationship with Heavenly Father serving you?


One of the lessons that I have seen reinforced in my life this past year, in serving you as your Bishop, has been in recognizing that my happiest moments have come when my actions and efforts were aligned with my understanding of what I've felt the Lord wanted me to do, and then doing it.  That doesn't mean challenges don't present themselves.  I love this simple scripture that serves as an example found in 2 Nephi 5:27 that helps me keep perspective.  After many years of harsh travel to the Promised Land, facing conflict, challenges, and sacrifice, can you imagine this joyous reflective moment Nephi must have had when he wrote, "And it came to pass that we lived after the manner of happiness." How his joy must have been full.


Sometimes what we want and what the Lord wants from us doesn't always align.  That is our challenge in walking the Covenant Path.  That path of course has milestones along the way when we receive our ordinances, but it is the day-to-day decisions we make that give us the chance to feel good and be happy in living the gospel of Jesus Christ as Latter-Day Saints.


The joy I've found happens when I've flipped the switch in my life to find out what my role is in the Lord's plan.  My prayers have become more meaningful when I've approached Heavenly Father asking him, what does he want from me, instead of pleading for things that I want him to do for me.  My scripture reading has become more meaningful when I seek to understand, rather than to look for answers. 


It's a subtle difference that changes perspective.  The former approach is based on what can I do for the Lord, while the latter approach is based more on a little more selfish plan of what can the Lord do or prove for me.  I'm happiest when my purposes for doing something is aligned with what I've felt the Lord wanted me to do.  I believe THAT is the secret of finding joy in walking the Covenant Path.


Jesus Christ performed an Infinite Atonement and taught us all a lesson when he did what the Father wanted him to do, despite having a moment when his desire to do so did not line up.  Nevertheless, he chose to go through with it and he gave all the glory and honor go to the Father. He fulfilled his purpose, and our joy is only possible because of him.


As we use this season to honor his birth and his life, let us all seek ways to find our ikigai (purpose and joy) that the Lord wants for us individually.  Let us seek understanding and giving rather than skepticism and selfishness and find joy and happiness in Christ.


Love,


Bishop Tano



Meeting Schedule & Links

  • Dec 24, Sunday 10 am - Kahalu'u Ward Sacrament Meeting Program: CLICK HERE

  • 2023 Kahalu'u Ward Youth Christmas Lip Dub Link:  CLICK HERE 

Announcements

  • Missionary Meals: Our missionaries need meals and visits! Please sign up to meet with the Elders using this MEAL CALENDAR, or call them at (808) 379-8012.

  • DECEMBER: Hawaii Temple & Family History Newsletter

  • TITHING SETTLEMENTS: To schedule an appointment for your 2023 tithing settlement please sign up on the clerk’s office door. To view your donation summary online, please log into your LDS account or request a print out of your donations from our Ward Clerk, Bro. Marshall Comstock IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO DECLARE YOUR TITHE VIA TEXT, PLEASE SEND A MESSAGE TO BISHOP TANO AT (808) 232-4509. DECLARATION OPTIONS: FULL OR PART

  • Dec 24, Sunday 10 am - Sacrament Meeting (Christmas Program) @ Waikalua Chapel (1 Hour)

  • Dec 28, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Dec 30, Saturday 10 - 2 pm - Stake Youth Beach Clean-up Service Project @ Sherwoods Beach Park

  • Dec 31, Sunday 10 am - Sacrament Meeting @ Waikalua Chapel (1 Hour)

  • Jan 4, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Jan 7, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Jan 11, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Jan 14, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Jan 18, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Jan 21, Sunday 10 am - Sacrament Meeting @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Jan 21, Sunday 4 pm - Youth Council @ Bishop’s Office

  • Jan 21, Sunday 6 pm - SED @ Bishop’s House

















164 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentit


bottom of page