top of page
  • Writer's pictureKahaluu Bishop

Kahalu'u Ward Message 10/8/23

Aloha Kahalu’u ‘Ohana…

During Leeya’s soccer practice last week, I decided to visit my best friend who was working nearby. Despite the lingering rain clouds & not knowing the exact route, I quickly loaded Shae in her stroller & started walking. I didn’t know if I even had time to get there & back…I developed tunnel vision & was set on visiting her.


While pushing the stroller with one hand, navigating Google Maps with the other & keeping a brisk pace…I failed to notice that TWO Mililani fire stations popped up in my search. I hastily clicked on the first one, figured out the mileage & went on my way.


A while later, my girlfriend texted they had left for a call but should be back at the station shortly. So, I slowed my pace & sent a photo of Shae to let her know where we were. It was immediately after that when she replied, “Girl, you are going the wrong station.” Taking a second look in Maps, I now noticed the soccer field smack dab in the middle of BOTH fire stations. So what would’ve been a simple 2mi walk had now become 4mi round trip.


Elder Henry B. Eyring once shared that whenever he complained that things were hard, his mother would say, “If you are on the right path, it will always be uphill.“ My stubbornness & hastiness initially resulted in frustration but my girlfriend quickly reminded me that it all worked out in the end. I’m thankful to those who help remind me to not dwell on my shortcomings but rather focus on those blessings that come with a continued effort to do what the Lord asks of me.


Ke aloha nō,

Kyra Chun

Primary President, Kahalu'u Ward


Meeting Schedule & Links

  • Oct 8, Sunday 2 pm - General Conference: CLICK HERE

Missionary Moment



Announcements

  • Missionary Meals: Our missionaries need meals and visits! Please sign up to meet with the Elders using this MEAL CALENDAR, or call them at (808) 379-8012.

  • OCTOBER: Hawaii Temple & Family History Newsletter

  • Oct 8, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Oct 12, Thurs 4:45 pm - Youth Temple Baptisms (6,7 pm Sessions) @ Kahalu’u District Park

  • Oct 15, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Oct 15, Sunday 4 pm - Youth Council @ Bishop’s Office

  • Oct 15, Sunday 6:30 pm - SED @ Bishop’s House

  • Oct 18, Wednesday - Stake Temple Night @ Laie Temple

  • Oct 19, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Oct 20, Friday 6:00 pm - Ward Halloween Party @ Waikalua Chapel



















103 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page