top of page
  • Writer's pictureKahaluu Bishop

Kahalu'u Ward Message 10/22/23

Aloha Brothers and Sisters, Leaving the house for church last Sunday was an emotional roller coaster for my family. Barely arriving in time for sacrament meeting, I did my best to refocus my mind and heart back on the Lord, but I hadn’t settled into a better mindset before hearing Sister Afualo ask the Relief Society sisters to gather in the choir loft to sing. I didn’t move. Still caught up in earlier emotions, the idea of singing when I felt like screaming, and the long walk from the back of the overflow to the choir loft, felt like too much for my frenzied mind. I knew I should get up and join the other sisters, but I couldn’t get myself to do it. I stayed glued to my seat. I don’t recall the song that was sung but I do remember thinking of how far away the choir loft seemed. Since then, I have felt gnawing regret for not singing with the Relief Society sisters last week. I know I didn’t break a commandment. No one was physically hurt by my decision to remain seated. Life went on without a single hiccup. So why am I regretful of a seemingly small and inconsequential moment? After a few days of thoughtful consideration I realized that I was upset because I had let my “celestial” self down. I allowed myself to get caught up in telestial problems which kept me from literally singing with the angels.


There is a quote from Socrates that says, “To know thy self is the beginning of wisdom”. I believe this is one of the foundational purposes of our time here on this earth. Our greatest potential in this mortal experience lies in our moments of honest self evaluation when we purposefully see who we are and then decide if that is who we want to be. Through the power of the atonement we can flag the choices we have made and then use our knowledge and desire for change, to transcend and “upgrade” our internal operating systems to become new creatures in Christ, progressively bridging the gap toward perfection.


Brothers and sisters I know there will be many times in our lives when our minds get caught up in telestial matters and the distance between who we are, and who we hope to be, is greater than we have the energy for in that moment, but take heart! Zion was not built in a day and neither will we be. Let’s have faith in our Lord’s perfect plan of progression and take time to thoughtfully get to know ourselves. If we are willing to see our flaws we can then flag the areas we would like to improve upon and take steady steps towards who we hope to become. It won’t always be perfection, and sometimes we may find ourselves glued to our seat, but with the Savior’s help, and our personal desire to be better, we will ultimately find ourselves singing with angles.


With love,

Sister Ka’iulani Lau Young Women's President, Kahalu'u Ward


Meeting Schedule & Links

  • Oct 22, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Program: CLICK HERE

2023 Youth Retreat Video



Special Message from President Nelson



Announcements

  • Missionary Meals: Our missionaries need meals and visits! Please sign up to meet with the Elders using this MEAL CALENDAR, or call them at (808) 379-8012.

  • OCTOBER: Hawaii Temple & Family History Newsletter

  • Thank you to all those who attended and contributed to the efforts of our wonderful Halloween Party last Friday night!

  • Thank you to Bro. Fano's Chapel Clean Up team! This week's turn is Bro. Tom's team.

  • Oct 22, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Oct 22, Sunday 7 pm - World Wide Event For Youth @ Keolu Chapel

  • Oct 28, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Oct 28, Saturday 4-5:30 pm - Stake Conference (Training Session) @ Keolu Hills Chapel

  • Oct 29, Saturday 7-8:30 pm - Stake Conference (Evening Session) @ Keolu Hills Chapel

  • Oct 30, Sunday 10 am - Stake Conference @ Keolu Hills Chapel Virtual Link to Sunday Session: CLICK HERE

  • Nov 2, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Nov 2, Thursday 6:30 pm - Primary Activity @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Nov 5, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Nov 9, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Nov 12, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Nov 16, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Nov 19, Sunday 2 pm - Sacrament Meeting @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Nov 19, Sunday 4 pm - Youth Council @ Bishop’s Office

  • Nov 19, Sunday 7 pm - SED @ Bishop’s House





















145 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page