top of page
  • Writer's pictureKahaluu Bishop

Kahalu'u Ward Message 1/8/23

Happy New Year!

Shortly before Christmas, I received the devastating news of the passing of my childhood best friend. Although we fell out of contact over the years, my sister followed him on social media and would update me on his life achievements from time to time. This was no ordinary man. He was the commander of the US Navy SEAL Team 1 and had received many awards. These awards included five Bronze Star Medals and three Combat Action ribbons. He also received several medals in relation to the wars in Afghanistan. This was all achieved through living a dedicated and service-oriented life for OTHERS.


After learning of this tragedy I began asking myself, “what have I done lately for others?” A few things came to mind, but nothing like earlier in my life when I feel I was more dedicated to the service of others. Honestly, that is when I am usually the happiest. I truly believe that great joy and happiness comes to us as we selflessly serve others. I often find myself committing “assumicide” and saying, “They will have plenty of people there already who can help. They don’t really need me.”


My goal this year is to refocus my time, energy and efforts on building God’s Kingdom through service. I pray that we may all commit to increasing our level of service this year, whether it be to those we serve in our callings, neighbors, co-workers, family, friends or those in need.


“Indeed heaven never seems closer than when we see the love of God manifested in the kindness and devotion of people so good and so pure that angelic is the only word that comes to mind.”

Elder Jeffrey R. Holland


Bro. Jeff Vilardi

Ward Mission Leader, Kahalu'u Ward


Meeting Schedule & Links

  • Fast & Testimony Sacrament Meeting 2 pm @Waikalua Chapel

  • Sacrament Meeting Program: CLICK HERE

Announcements

  • Missionary Meals: Our missionaries need meals and visits! Please sign up to meet with the Elders using this MEAL CALENDAR, or call them at (808) 379-8012.

  • Jan 8, Sunday 6:00 pm - Stake Youth Council Meeting @ Waikalua Chapel (

  • Jan 12, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night @Waikalua Chapel

  • Jan 15, Sunday 2:00 pm - Sacrament Meeting @Waikalua Chapel

  • Jan 15, Sunday :00 pm - Youth Council @ Bishop’s Office (YM/YW Class Presidents)

  • Jan 15, Sunday 6:00 pm - Youth Trek Fireside @ Laie Stake Center


Missionary Corner

Last week in the MTC! This past week has been so fun. We had two really good devotionals by the Mackey family and by President Johnson and Brother Johnson. Something that I liked was that as missionaries, we are just going out and reconnecting people with Heavenly Father. We are awakening the Spirit of Christ that already resides in them. Another thing that was shared with us was that we are all stars placed on our own divine orbits by God. And our orbits are bound to intersect with other people's. Everyone that we come in contact with happens for a reason. All that happens in our lives happens for a reason.

- Elder Kekaula


John 16:33 "These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world."


I have found so much JOY as I've made Jesus Christ my focus and can promise you the same thing if you do! - Sis. Suguturaga


Happy New Year everyone! I know that we don't have to be perfect all at once, but that change comes one step at a time, and it's because of and through the atonement that we can make those changes not only when a new year arrives, but every day, hour, minute, or even every second we can make a decision that'll adjust the course of our life back to God. And He'll accept us no matter when we decide to take that step, because He loves us and His plan is a plan of happiness.


"...For all this his anger is not turned away, but his hand is stretched out still." - Sis. Suguturaga



Here's a pretty well known scripture but it still stood out to me this past week:

"And as I partook of the fruit thereof it filled my soul with exceedingly great joy; wherefore, I began to be desirous that my family should partake of it also; for I knew that it was desirable above all other fruit." -1 Nephi 8:12.

For me I have found this scripture relate to me even more this past week. While door knocking you don't have a great opportunities to share what you know but as we've visited members the thought kept coming that the blessings that come from the Atonement of Jesus Christ should be known to everyone. There was just a desire to have what we know shared to everyone. This gives me hope while door knocking and I know that these blessings can help out each and everyone of us today. - Elder Kaonohi


Happy New Year! It's so crazy that it's already 2023! This past week I've been thinking about what my New Year's resolutions are and how I will follow through with them for the entire year. This year is especially special for me because I will be a full time missionary for THE ENTIRE YEAR!! I can't express how excited I am for this year and the things that will come from my time as a missionary. This year my New Year's Resolution is to not only convert others unto Christ but to convert myself as well and serve Him with all my heart, might, mind, and strength. I can do this by continuously turning outward rather than inward. By turning outwards in love, compassion, and service we can begin to forget ourselves and our worries and find peace and joy in helping others. I invite you all to make a New Year's Resolution that strengthens your conversion to Christ and ask your Father in Heaven to help you to be able to continuously work on that resolution. - Sis. Ah Nee

Japan, Fukuoka Mission - Kumamoto District


Our branch has 14 people here, and they are so faithful! We have a baptism on the 9th! The name of our tomodachi (friend) is Yoshikai-san. She's a lady that was looking around different churches in Japan and found the church through Facebook. She's been meeting with missionaries for 6 months. - Elder Tano


Mission Prep Class - Week 12 with Dr. Matthew Bowen, Professor in the Department of Religion at Brigham Young University, Hawaii who spoke on symbolism in the Temple.


129 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page