top of page
  • Writer's pictureKahaluu Bishop

Kahalu'u Ward Message 1/15/23

Aloha Kahalu'u Ward,

My classmate recently died. We ran track together. He was the State hurdles champion and was

unbeatable. We practiced together and in those days, Kamehameha had the worst run-down track

of all the high schools. The oval lap was not even the official quarter-mile length (440 yards). It

was only 330 yards long. The dreaded part of practice was running the “330” before

concentrating on our specialties. I always ran the 330 with Joe and by the first 100 yards I was

already 10 yards behind him. By the end of the race, that distance only increased. One day Joe

tells me, “just run fast.” I was rather miffed. Like, the fast guy telling the slow guy, “just run

fast.” But then, the proverbial light went on. The truth was, that I was running to avoid feeling

sick at the end of the race, not running to win. At the end of the 330, I would be so tired that I

would feel sick. When that light went on, I realized that if I ran fast, I would feel sick at the end

of the race. But, if I ran slow, I would still feel sick at the end of the race. It wasn’t the speed that

made me sick, it was the distance. So, the next time we ran, I ran as fast as I could. At the 100-

yard mark I wasn’t ahead of Joe, but I wasn’t 10 yards behind him either; I was right behind him;

and I stayed there until the end of the race.

Sometimes unfounded fears prevent me from doing something, such as missionary work, genealogy research, compassionate service, and the list goes on. The Doctrine and Covenants says:

Fear not to do good, my sons, for whatsoever ye sow,that shall ye also reap; therefore, if ye sow good ye shall also reap good for your reward. D&C 6:33

Bro. Terence Miyahana

High Councilman, Kahalu'u Ward


Meeting Schedule & Links

  • Fast & Testimony Sacrament Meeting 2 pm @Waikalua Chapel

  • Sacrament Meeting Program: CLICK HERE

Announcements

  • Missionary Meals: Our missionaries need meals and visits! Please sign up to meet with the Elders using this MEAL CALENDAR, or call them at (808) 379-8012.

  • Jan 15, Sunday 6:00 pm - Youth Trek Fireside @ Laie Stake Center

  • Jan 19, Thursday 6:30 pm - Primary Activities @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Jan 19, Thursday 6:30 pm - Youth Night @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Jan 22, Sunday 2:00 pm - Sacrament Meeting @ Waikalua Chapel

  • Jan 22, Sunday TBD pm - Youth Council @ Bishop’s Office (YM/YW Class Presidents)

  • Jan 22, Sunday 4:00 pm - Temple & Priesthood Preview @ Waikalua Chapel (Primary Room)

  • Jan 22, Sunday 7:00 pm - SED @ Bishop’s Home


Missionary Corner

Before I came out my knowledge of the gospel or scriptures were a concern for me but I was just lacking the confidence in what I was saying. I found out that I do know this gospel well and it lives through me. It lives in each and every one of us. We just have to invite it and allow it to work through us so it can work it's magic. I can testify that to you with my whole heart and personally tell you that it has worked its wonder unto me and I've been experiencing true happiness.

- Elder Dano


I know that God knows we're imperfect, but He also knows we are trying our best. So, He's planted seeds along the wayside that will still turn fruitful when we feel our best efforts have fallen short. I know God lives and loves us and has provided a savior to turn that fallen water into flowers (or hana in japanese) as we go through our life and rely on Him in all things. - Sis. Suguturaga




Here is something I read this past week for personal study: "Lift up your eyes to the heavens, and look upon the earth beneath . . . But my salvation shall be forever, and my righteousness shall not be abolished" - 2 Nephi 8:6. I really enjoyed this scripture because of the importance of using an eternal perspective on the world around us. I know that through following Jesus Christ we can all gain salvation and by looking at things through "heavens eyes" we can see the eternal purposes of all our choices.

- Elder Kaonohi

Saturday- we taught Shimoi san and she accepted the invitation to be baptized!! She is set to be baptized on January 22! We taught her the first lesson and talked alot about the gift of the Holy Ghost. I then asked her, "shimoisan seirei no tamamono o uketai to omoimaska?" Which is basically saying do you want the gift of the Holy Ghost. She then said yes very enthusiastically. So my companion then asked if she wanted to be baptized! And she said YES! We will continue to meet with her and teach her lessons but we are so excited she accepted baptism! Please pray for her to continue to prepare for baptism and come closer to Christ in the process.

Japan, Fukuoka Mission - Kumamoto District It's Seijinski (a special event for people who are 20) and I'm 20 so it was extra special!! A sweet member from Kumamoto paid for the entire district to rent kimono and go to Kumamoto castle! It turns out she was taught by my dad when he was a missionary here in Fukuoka! It was such a cool experience and I'm so glad I got to meet her. - Sis. Ah Nee


This Sunday was a fasting testimony meeting so I had to bear my testimony because I'm a missionary and there were only 6 people there. I shared a scripture; Moses 6:31 "Behold my Spirit is upon you, wherefore all thy words will I justify; and the mountains shall flee before you, and the rivers shall turn from their course; and thou shalt abide in me, and I in you; therefore walk with me." I related it to Japanese being difficult for me, but the Lord is providing a way for me. I'll do what He wants me to do. - Elder Tano








120 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page