top of page
  • Writer's pictureKahaluu Bishop

Kahalu'u Ward Message 10/2/21

Updated: Nov 12, 2021

Aloha e Kahalu’u ‘Ohana…

At the beginning of every General Conference, my mind always drifts back to the days when it was so easy for me to sit with my notebook (I’m a sucker for note taking) and focus on the talks. Then when my ‘ohana grew, it involved activities to keep the kids occupied and me listening but maybe not getting the chance to take notes. Nowadays, it’s resorted to 100% attention on the kids and me accepting the reality that I may only get to hear a few things from a few speakers…in actuality I’d have to wait until the Conference was made available online and then I’d listen/read them later.

I used to feel robbed of MY time, MY opportunity to hear our church leaders address ME. But then I came across this quote by David O McKay that put things into an eternal perspective…it helped me realign my attitude, “No other success can compensate for failure in the home.” There'll be plenty of chances for me to read the talks on my own…but there will only be one opportunity to listen and watch with all of my kids. Focusing on THEM while the voices of those inspired by our Heavenly Father play in the background was how I could make sure ALL in my home could get the most of General Conference.

It is my hope that no matter what season you are in at this point in your lives, you are able to simply listen. I have a testimony that this will fortify your foundations of faith in the Gospel. Take care


Ke aloha nō,

Kyra Chun

Kahalu’u Ward Primary President


Please enjoy this 2021 General Conference activity packet for the Primary keiki. Have a great Conference weekend.


General Conference Weekend

  • No Sunday meetings due to General Conference. First session of Conference started at 6am HST on Saturday. For full Conference schedule and broadcast links, visit the church website.

Announcements

  • Chapel Cleanup: Our ward is responsible for Chapel Cleanup now through December. Team assignments for October can be found HERE. Cleanup will take place at 8am this coming Saturday (Oct 9th) unless other arrangements are made.

    • Oct 9th assignment: Mills (Team Lead), Walk, Suguturaga, Pastor, Malo, Kimokeo, Kanahele-Mo'o, Hiew, Fetzer, Chun (KC & Kyra), Ah Nee.

  • Primary: Primary Activities for all classes from CTR 7 to Valiant 10 will meet at the chapel this Thursday at 6:30pm (excluding Valiant 10 girls who will meet next week)

  • Youth Night: The youth will meet this Thursday at 6:30pm at the Waikalua chapel for youth night

  • Stake Temple Rec Interviews: Due to General Conference this weekend, temple recommend interviews with the stake at the Waikalua chapel have been rescheduled to the 5th Sunday, October 31.

  • Missionary Meals: Our missionaries need meals and visits! Please sign up to meet with the Elders using this calendar, or call them at (808) 379-8012

  • Kaneohe Stake Temple Night: The stake will host a temple night at the La'ie temple on October 13. Sign up is required; deadline is this Wednesday, Oct 6. Please see attached flyer for details.



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page